The 3rd Republic Novels : Volumes 1-4 : Seth Lynch

  • £29.95
    Unit price per 
  • Save £5.85
Tax included.


Your opportunity to the complete limited edition re-issue of Seth Lynch's stunning 3rd Republic Series. 

  • Vol 1 : A Citizen Of Nowhere 
  • Vol 2 : A Dead American In Paris
  • Vol 3 : The Paris Ripper
  • Vol4 : Veronique

 Vol 1 : A Citizen Of Nowhere

Paris. 1930.

Salazar is an English detective haunted by his experiences of the Great War, who wiles away the days playing chess and taking on as little work as possible. When the alluring Marie Poncelet hires him to find a missing man he quickly realises it's a case he wishes he'd refused. 

Finding a missing man isn't anything like finding a man who doesn't want to be found and Gustave Marty has covered his tracks with a smokescreen that will push Salazar beyond the limits of physical endurance and to the edge of insanity. 

As he's drawn deeper into the shadowy underbelly of the City of Light, Salazar's closed, structured world is blown apart by the arrival of a friend from his pre-war youth, the beautiful Megan Fitzwilliam, whose tenderness and love of life is a stark contrast to the brutal violence that lies within him.

When that violence threatens to engulf them both, Salazar must seek redemption or lose the very thing that has finally made his life worth living.

Praise for Citizen of Nowhere

“Salazar is richly cinematic and completely enthralling with a great sense of time and place, as well as a great deal of wry humour.”

“Knowing well the parts of France where the story unfolds, I realize that this book has been meticulously researched, and the pictures painted and the setting of the characters are perfectly described and richly amplified. Lynch has created a lead character in Salazar that is up there with the Colombos and the Wallanders of this genre, and I look forward impatiently to the second book, in what I'm sure will be a long-lived series.” 

“Fans of Highsmith's Ripley or Chandler's Marlow will love this book as much as just about anybody simply looking for an absorbing holiday read.”

“A real page turner. Salazar is so much more than a crime novel and a real insight into the minds and lives in those post war Paris years, accompanied by knowledgeable descriptive detail of people and places.”

“An enjoyable read that takes you on a trip back to 1930 Paris. Salazar is on a mission to find more than just a man but his new identity in a turbulent time and place.”

Vol 2 : A Dead American In Paris

1931

Arty Homebrook lived and died in a world of sleaze which stretched from Chicago to Paris but never beyond the gutter.

He'd been sleeping with Madame Fulton, which is why Harry Fulton promised to kill him. So far as the Paris Police are concerned it's an open and shut case. Harry's father has other ideas and hires Salazar to investigate.

As Salazar gets to grips with the case he’s dragged reluctantly into an unpleasant underworld of infidelity, blackmail, backstreet abortions and murder.

Salazar is far too inquisitive to walk away and far too stubborn to know what's for the best. So he wakes up each hungover morning, blinks into the sunlight, and presses on until it's his life on the line. Then he presses on some more, just for the hell of it.

Praise for A Dead American In Paris

"If you want a book which has fast paced action, plenty of snappy lines and transports you to another time then Salazar delivers."

"Salazar is a fascinating character, with a wonderful wry and dry sense of humour.

"One of the best novels I've read all year."

Vol 3: The Paris Ripper

Paris, 1931. There's a vicious killer on the loose.

A series of increasingly violent murders leaves Paris in a state of fear as The Paris Ripper targets his victims seemingly at will. In the face of the random nature of these gruesome murders Chief Inspector Belmont of the Paris police seems to be getting nowhere. 

With Belmont facing increasing pressure from the public and the press The Ripper’s confidence grows and in an act of supreme hubris he taunts the police with the mutilated body of a young woman. Ripped open on her own bed. Belmont's name written in blood on the bedroom wall.

The tide of the investigation begins to turn and despite being distracted by the suspicious death of a colleague and some shady goings on within the police department, Belmont finally starts to make headway in the case. 

As Belmont begins to close in on his target The Ripper decides to challenge the Chief Inspector face to face in a terrifying and bloody confrontation that will keep your heart pounding till the very last page.

Praise for The Paris Ripper

'Slick and evocative, The Paris Ripper is a period thriller of the highest calibre.' - EVA DOLAN,

'Tough, robust and authentic, the streets of 1930's Paris are masterfully evoked in this first outing for Chief Inspector Belmont. With a killer who needs stopping, it's chilling, tense and dangerous, and marks the start of an exciting new series.' - NICK QUANTRILL, 

'A gruesome murder starts a labyrinthine investigation that digs below Paris' glittery surface and unearths the city's dark underbelly. The Paris Ripper is a vivid and gripping slice of historical crime fiction.' - PAUL D. BRAZILL

Vol 4: Veronique

VERONIQUE, Volume 4 of the critically acclaimed 3rd Republic series begins shortly after the events that take place in Volume 3 : The Paris Ripper 

When the body of a child is found murdered in a quiet French village, local gendarme Lieutenant Aucouturier calls in the help of Roban, an investigator from Paris who happens to be recuperating in the area.

Between them, the two detectives pursue the killer of the young girl while navigating the sometimes tangled lives and politics of the close-knit village community.

"Rivalries, revenge and uncomfortable truths from the past all collide in another tour de force from Seth lynch as his 3rd Republic Series continues to grow from strength to strength."